Tuesday, June 22, 2004

Has it really been 20 years?

It doesn't seem that long ago (to me, anyway), but the Detroit Tigers last won the World Series in 1984, so they're commemorating the 20th anniversary of that title this summer.

It was a memorable team featuring the likes of Willie Hernandez, Kirk Gibson, Jack Morris, Lance Parrish, Lou Whitaker, Alan Trammell, Chet Lemon, and manager Sparky Anderson.

After their clinching game vs. the Padres, my friends and I drove into the city and celebrated the victory with thousands of other fans. It's an event I'll never forget. I gave more high fives to strangers that night than any other time in my life. Unbelievable.

The Detroit Free Press tracked down the coaches and players from that team in a "Where are they now?" recap.


At 7:27 PM, Blogger SteveO said...

This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

At 7:28 PM, Blogger SteveO said...

Very sad Paul. Once again fishing for support for your Tigers again.

The Bronx Bombers have won at least a third of the pennants over the past 100 years and more than a quarter of the World Series Championships! As a matter of fact, since your Magnum PI's won the Series, the Yanks have been to the big dance six times and winning it all in '96, '98, '99 and 2000.

You go ahead and celebrate an anniversary. I'll go out and celebrate another title.


Post a Comment

<< Home